Tuesday, September 29, 2009

All About Christy

My full name is Christy Marie Acheson.

I am 30 years old.

I was born in Hays KS and raised in Bogue KS.

I have known my husband since high school. Our friends tried to set us up while we were in high school, however I thought he was kinda a nerd. After high school we started hanging out and writing lots of letters back and forth as he had left for the Army. Once he came home from basic training, we started dating. And the rest is history -Now he is my big nerd!

We have 2 children. Marjorie Loree (Maggie) is 5 and Blaine Glenn is 8.

No one is out of the house yet and it may never happen. They must have talked about going to college at school because my 8 year old came home in tears. He said he doesn't want to go to college unless I can go with him.

5 of us make up this family - Richard, Christy, Blaine, Maggie, and George (our beagle)

No grandchildren

I do most of the cooking, however my husband is great on the grill. He makes wonderful hamburgers and steaks.

We live in a town of just under 50,000.

If I could live anywhere it would be New Zealand because of all the beautiful surroundings. My husband has lots of relatives there who keep begging us to visit. So hopefully when the kids are a bit older we can all go (for a visit anyway).

I spend tons of money on dying my hair. I was one of those unfortunate girls who started getting gray hair at around age 18.

My favorite past time is reading and sewing. I also enjoy spending time with my family.

My all time favorite color is green. I am a jadite collector. I also like 60's reproduction fabric in the pinks, yellows, oranges, etc.

I don't do a lot of crafting. I make clothes for my daughter and her american girl doll.

I generally get up at 0700 and attempt to wake up the kids on my way to the shower. After I shower they get a second wake up call ( usually with a bit more pizazz, maybe some singing) We eat breakfast and try to get out the door by 0815. Once they are dropped off at school, I head to work at the hospital where I am a speech pathologist. I generally work until 1700, sometimes later depending on hospital census. Once I get home, we eat and are usually off to dance or church or something. We do homework, guitar practice, baths, and read. Once all this is achieved we get to bed and start all over again the next day.

My favorite season is the fall. I love the beautiful colors and enjoy feeling the sun when the temp is still in the 50's and 60's.

If I could have something made for me it would be a bigger bathroom. One with one of those spa tubs.

The best Christmas gift I ever recieved was a pink bike when I was in the 4th grade.

My funny story: My husband and I are trying to be green and so we have a "recycling" box in the kitchen where I sort the paper, plastic, and cans. One day on the way home from church Blaine asked Maggie if she was a disciple of God. Maggie said no. He said "Maggie you really should be a disciple, its a good thing." She said "Blaine you know that mom is the only one who does the "discipling" at our house. No one else uses that green bin."

2 comments:

Missy Melissy said...

Very funny. I forgot about that. It's nice to read about your own sister and learn something. Like the fall and how funny you are. And that I can tell that Richard was in the Army from how you write time. Love you sis.

Patty said...

Love your funny. I also love the fact that you and your sister are in this together. My Sister, Judy is my best friend now. When we were younger I just thought she was annoying. It's funny how things change.