Sunday, November 14, 2010

Meet Natalie

Where do you live?
I currently live in Centreville, VA which is pretty close to Washington DC. I've lived in this area since 2008 but I am originally from Roanoke, VA which is in the south western part of the state in a valley surrounded on all sides by mountains.

Do you have any hidden talents?
I am REALLY good at whistling which always surprises people because apparently girls aren't supposed to be good at it. I can pick up objects with my toes and pinch people with them too. I can cross 1 eye and leave the other one straight.

Name two things you consider yourself to be pretty good at.
I'm pretty good at stippling. I probably don't do it the way I am 'supposed' to but my way works for me. I'm still working on learning other free motion quilting techniques. I'm pretty good at solving problems like helping someone pick out a fabric to go with what they are working on or fixing a block that isn't working. If you have a problem, ask me because I can usually come up with a solution.

Name two things you consider yourself to be very bad at.
I am bad at following pattern directions. I am therefore pretty good at using my seam ripper. I am bad at cutting/saving/using coupons. I am therefore pretty good at finding things already on sale or finding discount codes online.

Do you have any siblings? What are they like?
I have several!

Christopher - step brother - He is always cold so we are always giving him warm socks and sweaters for Christmas and birthdays. He works for a construction equipment rental company and has a very large mustache.

Matthew - step brother - He is very loud and obnoxious but also very thoughtful and funny. He is the president of a paper manufacturing company in Maryland. He and his wife Jodi have my first niece Gracyn and are expecting another girl on November 19th.

Alissa - sister - She is so sweet and funny and generous. She always gives the best gifts for any occasion and I love her fashion sense. She works in customer relations for a very small web design company called Abeedle. She and her husband Keith have my two nephews: Coleman who is 5 and Ben who is 1.

Scott - step brother - He is such a sweet and caring guy but not many people know that because he's very careful about who he lets into his heart. We don't get to see him very often because he lives in Pittsburgh and works as a DJ/club manager.


Leslie - step sister - She is incredibly outgoing and has a wonderful singing voice. Her favorite color is pink (she is pretty obsessed really). She works at Best Buy and goes to school full time.


Michael - brother - He is also a sweetie pie and also pretty outgoing. He loves to fish and will get up at any hour or stay up until all hours of the night to do so. He is an excellent beer pong player and can grow a beard within a couple of days. He has some elusive contracting job with the Navy and we never really know what he's doing.

Have you ever won a trophy?
I have won several trophies in swimming, gymnastics, Odyssey of the Mind, Reflections, dancing, and 2 for a business plan competition in college.


Name one thing that not many people know about you?
I have grown my hair out to donate to Locks of Love 3 times. I took 3 years off between my second and third year of college.

What is your earliest memory?
I remember climbing into my little brother's crib to play with him in the wee hours of the morning. I must have only been a couple of years old but I was very skilled at getting to places I wasn't supposed to be.

What was your favorite musical group when you were in Junior High? Hmm...let's see...Ace of Base, Hootie and the Blowfish, Blues Traveler, Tracey Chapman, Aqua (specifically the Barbie girl song), Everclear, and a bunch of other bands I never listen to anymore. Somehow I still know most of the words to their songs.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
For a long time I wanted to be a fashion designer and then I decided to be a doctor. I stuck with doctor until my second year in college when I decided I would rather have time to spend with a family than a fancy title and a hefty school loan to pay off. I changed to a business major in Marketing after my three year break from college.

What are you passionate about? I love the quote by Mahatma Gandhi 'You must be the change you wish to see in the world'. I try to do little things every day to make the world a better place for everyone else because I want other people to pay it forward.

Who is the person you respect the most and why? I won't trouble anyone with the history but suffice to say that my mom is the person I respect the most because she has stood by me through everything and always made me feel like I am loved and welcomed.

What outdoor activities to you like? I like swimming, laying out in the sun, and playing with my dog.

If your house was on fire and you could only grab 3 things before leaving, what would they be?
My husband and dog of course but then I would save the quilts my mother in law made us and the ones I have made for us unless they were already on fire of course. Everything else is just stuff or in our fire safe box.

What is your most favorite place on earth?
Some beaches come to mind but to be honest, having my husband there with me is what made them so perfect. He brings so much joy and happiness to my life! 

7 comments:

Tamera said...

Welcome, Natalie! Nice to "meet" you!

Patty@Granma's said...

Hello, Natalie! I have a 'step'uncle in W. Virginia, but I can honestly say I've never crossed the Mississippi. Welcome, welcome!

Melissa Stramel said...

It's nice to meet you Natalie. Everyone, be sure to check out Natalie's blog, now linked on our sidebar. I'll be sending out her address as well, so watch for it!

Sew Pretty Dresses said...

Nice to meet you! You talents had me rolling!

Sew Pretty Dresses said...

Your not you! I am the WORST about taking time to proof read.

Hollie said...

So glad you've joined us Natalie! And I can attest that she is full of creative solutions!

Patty said...

Nice to meet you Natalie.